Sailing Stone

I’m feeling restless.

I have urban malaise. In college, I was surrounded by cornfields, and before that, I was never too far from Wisconsin or the Fox Valley, but here I never seem to get out of the city. People in Philly don’t travel too far from their homes. Some of my former students had never been out of their neighborhood. I do not mind Philadelphia, but everything seems so cramped and everyone seems to be practically on top of one other. At least in Chicago, there is that wide watery expanse of space to the east of the City.

I think I am going to need to venture out of the city for a bit soon.

Thirty spokes meet in the hub,
but the empty space between them
is the essence of the wheel.
Pots are formed from clay,
but the empty space between it
is the essence of the pot.
Walls with windows and doors form the house,
but the empty space within it
is the essence of the house
                            ~Lao Tse
Leave a Reply

